A Sampling of ALERRT at Texas State Major Media Hits: 2015-2016

Contact Diana Hendricks, Director of Communications (hendricks@alerrt.com, office: 512.245.4779 or cell/text: 512.618.3373) and she will direct you to subject matter experts and/or interviews with key personnel in the field of active shooter response and terrorism response tactics. If you are interested in covering ALERRT course delivery with still or video photography in your community, please contact us to coordinate access to the secure training and the best time during the training for good media opportunities.


Alabama: Alabama.Com: http://www.al.com/news/index.ssf/2015/12/san_bernardino_active_shooter.html
California: Los Angeles Times: http://www.latimes.com/local/california/la-me-security-20151207-story.html
California: KPCC - NPR, Los Angeles:"Oregon killing begs question: Have We Become Numb?"
California: Los Angeles Times: http://www.latimes.com/local/crime/la-me-sb-police-lessons-20160203-story.html

Colorado: Denver: http://www.denverpost.com/news/local/ci_27488346/as-trial-nears-debate-grows-over-naming-the-aurora-theater-shooter
Georgia: Atlanta PD in partnership with Mayors Office presents Active Shooter Response Training Atlanta InTown http://www.atlantaintownpaper.com/2016/02/30829/
Georgia: http://lagrangenews.com/news/7179/active-shooter-response-class-now-available
Georgia: http://www.twcnews.com/nc/triad/news/2015/08/6/fbi-and-kernersville-pd-host-alerrt-training.html
Idaho: http://www.cdapress.com/news/local_news/article_6675c017-5345-5be9-b652-628c848a9e1c.h
Illinois: Chicago Tribune: http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/nationworld/ct-are-mass-shootings-contagious-20160308-story.html
International: Australia: http://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-buzz/what-do-mass-shooting-australia-learns-the-fbi-14685
International: Singapore News: http://www.singaporenews.sg/world/are-mass-shootings-contagious-some-scientists-who-study-how-viruses-spread-say-yes/
Louisiana: Are active shootings contagious? Some scientists who study how viruses spread say yes - New Orleans Times Picayune:
http://www.nola.com/crime/index.ssf/2016/03/are_mass_shootings_contagious.html
Maryland: http://www.abc2news.com/news/in-focus/anne-arundel-police-adopt-national-active-shooter-respone-standard
Massachusetts: Boston Globe: https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2015/12/03/key-charts-mass-shootings-gun-violence-united-states/xLlu1HFK5y5newTtQcCkzI/story.html
Massachusetts: http://patch.com/massachusetts/burlington/burlington-police-fire-officials-participate-alerrt-active-shooter-0
Massachusetts: Shears praised for police training program:

http://www.newburyportnews.com/news/local_news/shears-praised-for-police-training-program/article_cf4394aa-7d6d-5209-b7d4-99570a4dd322.html
Michigan: http://www.mlive.com/news/kalamazoo/index.ssf/2016/04/website_names_portage_one_of_s.html
National: Associated Press: Boston Globe: Vermont Police Take Part in Active Shooter Training:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2015/12/29/vermont-police-take-part-active-shooter-training/Ppk7JWOUhAn8dHwewao1vI/story.html
National: BuzzFeed: http://www.buzzfeed.com/peteraldhous/active-shooter-stats
National: CNN: In Active Shooter situation, don’t just stand there: http://www.cnn.com/2016/03/03/us/active-shooter-crase-training/
National: CNN: Would More Guns Make America Safer? http://www.cnn.com/videos/tv/2016/01/06/active-shooter-situations-marquez-pkg.cnn
National: Comedy Central - Trevor Noah Show: http://www.mediaite.com/online/the-daily-show-destroys-good-guy-with-a-gun-theory/
National: Marketplace NPR: http://www.marketplace.org/2015/12/04/economy/more-programs-train-workers-respond-shooter
National: Morning Edition NPR: http://www.npr.org/2014/01/09/260980072/mass-shootings-across-u-s-are-on-the-rise
National: The Two Way NPR: http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2014/01/08/260777901/how-would-you-react-in-a-shooting-have-a-plan-experts-say
National: The Atlantic: How America Trains Its Officers to Respond to School Shootings:
http://www.theatlantic.com/video/index/426558/active-shooter/
National: The Atlantic: When Schools Simulate Mass Shootings http://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2015/02/when-schools-simulate-mass-shootings/385642/
National: The Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2016/04/10/police-trooper-breaks-down-strategies-on-surviving-terrorist-attacks-disasters-video/
National: The Nation http://www.thenation.com/article/combat-vets-destroy-the-nras-heroic-gunslinger-fantasy/

National: US Army Website: http://www.army.mil/article/160105/
National: USA Today View  No Notoriety: Mass Shootings Editorial
National: USA Today, How To Survive An Active Shooter Situation: USA Today
http://www.delmarvanow.com/story/news/local/maryland/2016/02/15/how-survive-active-shooter-situation/80348030/
National: USA Today: ALERRT: Opposing View

National: Newsweek  "No Notoriety: Should Media Name Shooter?" http://www.newsweek.com/no-notoriety-media-naming-shooters-382546
National: Police One Magazine: https://www.policeone.com/officer-shootings/articles/12952006-More-police-refusing-to-name-shooters-for-fear-of-copycats/
National: Police One Magazine: https://www.policeone.com/police-products/firearms/training/articles/51947006-Colo-clinic-attack-Most-officers-shot-in-single-incident-since-2013/
National: Wall Street Journal: http://www.wsj.com/articles/more-police-decide-against-naming-mass-shooting-suspects-1443985970

National: Wall Street Journal: Training Programs to Survive Mass Shooting Attacks Grow in Appeal http://www.wsj.com/articles/training-programs-to-survive-mass-shooting-attacks-grow-in-appeal-1452108760?mod=e2fb
National: Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/are-mass-shootings-contagious-some-scientists-who-study-how-viruses-spread-say-yes/2016/03/07/be44866a-df31-11e5-846c-10191d1fc4ec_story.html?tid=sm_tw

National: Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/public-safety/lanier-others-urge-civilians-to-sometimes-confront-active-shooters/2015/11/23/8757001e-91e4-11e5-a2d6-f57908580b1f_story.html
National: Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2015/12/04/when-even-preschoolers-must-prepare-for-an-active-shooter/
New York: New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/10/08/science/mass-killers-often-rely-on-past-perpetrators-blueprints.html?_r=0

New York: New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/live/san-bernardino-shooting/differences-set-shooting-apart/
North Carolina: http://legacy.wcnc.com/story/news/local/2015/05/07/fbi-provides-alerrt-training-to-area-law-enforcement/70979358/

Oklahoma: Editorially Speaking: Get Active Shooter Training- Muskogee (OK) Phoenix
http://www.muskogeephoenix.com/opinion/editorials/editorially-speaking-get-active-shooter-training/article_46ffa39c-e0c0-11e5-bfcf-1fd6eec1e871.html
Tennessee: Active Shooter training focuses on self defense: Jackson (TN) Sun:
http://www.jacksonsun.com/story/news/local/2016/02/29/active-shooter-training-focuses-self-defense/81123824/
Tennessee: http://www.theleafchronicle.com/story/news/2016/01/04/active-shooter-drill-held-clarksville-christian/78263584/

Texas: Amarillo http://amarillo.com/news/latest-news/2015-12-04/potter-deputies-prepare-residents-active-shooter-scenarios
Texas: How To Plan For Active Shooter Events: http://www.myfoxaustin.com/story/29629757/how-to-plan-for-an-active-shooter-attack 
Texas: Dallas Morning News: http://www.dallasnews.com/news/local-news/20151205-mass-shootings-in-the-u.s.-this-year-353--or-4-depending-on-your-definition.ece
Texas: Houston Chronicle: "Don't Name Them: Should Mass Shooters Be Identified?" (We received a note  from the Chronicle reporter stating that he successfully convinced his editor to remove the names of the killers from the slideshow that accompanied the online edition of this story.) http://www.chron.com/national/article/Should-mass-shooters-be-identified-Don-t-Name-6559469.php
Texas: KSAT http://reportingtexas.com/company-trains-civilians-to-take-out-active-shooters/
Texas: KXAN – Fighting For Your Life: http://kxan.com/2015/07/24/fighting-for-your-life-in-an-active-shooter-situation/
Texas: Reporting Texas: http://reportingtexas.com/company-trains-civilians-to-take-out-active-shooters/
Texas: Texas Tribune: https://www.texastribune.org/2014/04/16/texas-could-get-millions-active-shooter-training/

Virginia: Demand rising for survival training in wake of shooting incidents Lynchburg VA News and Advance: http://www.newsadvance.com/news/local/demand-rising-for-survival-training-in-wake-of-shooting-incidents/article_26f51b89-c2dd-52ef-b163-feca3968fd9a.html